The Obvious

mr. z., only low prices and brooke novodanilovsky

Posted in people, thoughts by theobvious on November 7, 2010

A famous Russian designer and as of late, blogger, renames his blog every week with a random quote from spam. The provenance of this post’s title is the same. For some reason, spammers have been insisting on addressing me as Mr. When I was younger, so much younger than today, I would have rejoiced in this mistake, as my greatest grievance was that I’d been born a girl.

Boys do have it so much better, in every respect, from the obvious fact that boys’ clothes, footwear, and accessories are more beautiful than girls’, to the convenient use of upright objects for emergency relief, to not having baby-making factories inside, to a simpler way with exercise, to being able to do certain things without looking funny or too butch, to so many other things.

As a child, I always identified with the male characters in books: they had all the fun, experienced character growth while being forced to perform heroic feats at an early and unprepared age, and so on, while girls were usually portrayed as wimpy, clingy, and histrionic. There would always be a younger sister who’d latch herself onto the hero and make him bring her everywhere. Dump her into a ditch!, I would think.

Being a girl sucks in comparison to being a boy. I may have said it here before. This is the kind of thing I think about a lot. It’s probably 85% stereotype, but I stand by it. And just now in Gtalk someone said “were I a girl…” in regard to something completely unrelated, but it still made me laugh.

Tagged with:

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] to read for two hours (I’m reading a series I adored as a child, which largely inspired my envy of boys, in the original Polish, and getting a great kick of it). Then I got told I looked great three […]


Leave a Reply

