The Obvious

pavadinimas lietuviškai, kad niekas nesuprastų

Posted in boredom, life, nablopomo, the thrilling goings-on by theobvious on November 2, 2010

Life’s been pretty repetitive lately.

On the micro level of a day it seems like it’s always: force myself out of bed entirely too late feeling wretched; walk to work; do a bit of Job #1 and a lot of procrastination; then some Job #2; then either do translations by the dozen (pages), or head directly home and go into vegetable mode reading a couple novels a day (fantasy and easy reading) or watching tv-shows end to end while earning lots and lots of Neopoints playing bouncy ball games; have several gallons of tea; often some odds and ends for Job #1 crammed in between; and finally, go to bed much too late.

On the macro level of a week it’s: Yiddish Sunday, Danish Monday, lately also yoga Thursday (about to start going on Mondays as well), home early Friday, vegging out Saturday, then all over again, interspersed with thoroughly uninspiring days at work and afternoons in noisy coffee-shops with translations, when there are any. These past two weeks there haven’t been any. I’m finding it difficult to fall asleep (this whole conscious breathing affair from yoga comes in handy, though, ommm), and waking up sweaty and harried from all the running about and fatal bureaucratic obstacles going on in my dreams.

What I need is a fantasy vacation. I’m pining for the fjords. Portugal could do me no end of good. Marrakesh would revive me. I would give half my kingdom to see Nepal. What I don’t need is a group of student visitors coming into my office at an ungodly hour tomorrow expecting to be shown around. Night owls vs. early birds will be the theme of my next rant, stay tuned.

Tagged with:

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. me said, on November 3, 2010 at 12:42 am

    Amen. Working like crazy to get out of this rut I’m in.


Leave a Reply

