The Obvious

fears

Posted in me myself, meme, nablopomo by theobvious on November 5, 2009

There are several websites listing all the names of existing phobias. They make for remarkable reading. Of course, I couldn’t help but make a list of the titles corresponding with things I fear or dislike. Here it is.

Acrophobia. Fear of heights (since a nasty fall; still hoping it’ll pass)
Anthrophobia. Fear of people (including on the phone)
Arachnophobia. Fear of spiders (ew)
Ataxiophobia. Fear of disorder (in other words, obsessiveness)
Atelophobia. Fear of imperfection (in myself and everything I do)
Bathophobia. Fear of depth (think of the ocean)
Chaetophobia. Fear of hair (ew)
Climacophobia. Fear of falling down stairs (that one’s from experience)
Demophobia. Fear or dislike of crowds (and crowded situations)
Emetophobia. Fear of vomiting (too much information, I know, but this is an honest list)
Entomophobia. Fear of insects (and consequently, nature)
Eremophobia. Fear of being by oneself (I am not good company)
Gerascophobia. Fear of growing old (23 is old)
Harpaxophobia. Fear of robbers (every unfamiliar sound at home is made by a robber)
Helminthophobia. Fear of becoming infested with worms (since that horrible biology class in fifth grade)
Iatrophobia. Fear of going to the doctor (so I just don’t go)
Kakorhaphiophobia. Fear of failure or defeat (see imperfection)
Lygophobia. Fear of darkness or dark places (monsters live in the dark, and so do robbers)
Merinthophobia. Fear of being bound (there always needs to be an exit)
Ophidiophobia. Fear of snakes (it recently hit me that they are disgusting)
Poinephobia. Fear of many things (self-evident from this list)
Scopophobia. Fear of being looked at (and listened to, and noticed)
Spheksophobia. Fear of wasps (haven’t been stung; hope never to be)
Thaasophobia. Fear of boredom (I get bored much too easily)
Thanatophobia. Fear of death (mine and everyone else’s)

Good thing these are not all full-fledged phobias, because trying to bend my life around each and every one of those things would probably be quite time-consuming to say the least. What are yours?

Tagged with:

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Roee said, on November 5, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    “Dolly, my darling”, my father whispered, dying in the small hotel, as I lay in the Highgate nursery with a night-light beside the bed to drive away the fears which always gathered after my mother – or was it my stepmother? – had pecked me good night. I was afraid of burglars and Indian thugs and snakes and fires and Jack the Ripper when I should have been afraid of thirty years in a bank and a take-over bid and a premature retirement and the Deuil du Roy Albert.
    (Travels with my Aunt, Graham Greene)


Leave a Reply

