The Obvious

look who almost blew the game on day two

Posted in nablopomo, work by theobvious on November 2, 2009

Today was my first day at work. Ever. I’ve never had a day job before. Nobody’s canceled my night job or school, but that is beside the point. It was an experience. To quote my own email (yay for unoriginal texts), they gave me some instructions to read, masterpieces in their own right. For example, there was a section entitled ‘Factors which may endanger a librarian’, featuring such horrors as ‘trauma caused by an untidy workspace’ and ‘excess dustiness’. One is also instructed to wash one’s hands with soap before eating and before leaving work. In case of a fire, one is, among other things, ‘not to be frightened’. Useful. (End quote.)

This was also my first opportunity to live out the cliché of walking to work on a freezing day carrying a paper cup full of coffee. Well, it is sure nice to have a maple syrup latte by the computer for those moments of bibliographic frustration. Yes, what you heard, I am, as of today, a bibliographer. Which is a fancy way of saying that I spent seven hours modifying my new Firefox with all the add-ons I use on the old one, and cataloging a couple of books in the spare time. At the end, there was another pleasure of the grown-up world to experience: the trolleybus ride home in rush-hour traffic, followed by some frantic cleaning.

Expect more updates as I go through rigorous biblio-training and perform miracles of catalog work with my bare hands.

Tagged with:

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Akvile said, on November 3, 2009 at 3:05 am

    Have you already experienced the fabulous instruction how to use the fire extinguisher? :)

    • ollka said, on November 3, 2009 at 3:42 pm

      No, the woman who’s supposed to teach me wasn’t in that day, so it seems I’m spared for now. :) How’s it going for you in separation from Martynas Mosvidius?

      • Akvile said, on November 10, 2009 at 1:18 am

        You mean, am I nostalgic? Well, the advantages were that I loved the books and that I could do practically whatever I like… The disadvantages were cold, darkness and meagre pay :)

        By the way, have you read the instruction how you are supposed to use the computer? An incredible document, for example, according to it, it is formally forbidden even to check your personal email (because it is very “dangerous”)…

  2. Roee said, on November 3, 2009 at 10:46 am

    Welcome to adult world, dear.

    • ollka said, on November 3, 2009 at 3:44 pm

      Ah, honey, you always have the right words :)) Well, you and Dolly Parton.

  3. ollka said, on November 10, 2009 at 1:24 am

    Well, Akvile, you are right about the cold and the darkness and the pay, but you’re wrong about the personal computer. It’s really called A VIDEOTERMINAL! Incredible. And when the system guy came to make me a Windows account and install my Outlook, that was hilarious. A. and I seemed to know more about computers than he did.


Leave a Reply

