The Obvious

analyze this

Posted in food, random, silly, weird by theobvious on September 9, 2008

Here are some weird things that have happened to me lately:

First, a mate of mine called at 6:50 am on a Saturday morning. I only picked up because I keep the phone next to my pillow and it wouldn’t stop ringing. Oh, and because at that God-awful hour it was surely a matter of life and death.
‘What, are you sleeping or something?’ she inquired in amazement.
‘Yeah,’ I was inarticulate.
‘Anyway, I wanted to ask you, if I go to Finland, will you come?’ she blurted out.
‘Now?’ I asked.
‘No, no, just, you know, in general,’ she backed down, ‘If I were to go to Finland, would you come with?’
‘Probably,’ I said, ‘Ask me when I won’t be asleep.’
‘Oh, okay,’ she replied and hung up.
Life and death? Elämä ja kuolema, I’d rather think.

The following Monday I had my first Danish class. Uh, Dænish is sø hård tø prønøunce! If you thought French was difficult, try following instructions like ‘Say LLL, now lower your tongue to your bottom teeth and do it again, force the tongue down, keep it down there!’ Saying phrases like ‘what’s your name’ or ‘what are you doing’ is not unlike swallowing large portions of deep-fried gravel. Did you know that according to statistics only 7% of the letters in a written Danish text are actually heard in the pronunciation? Okay, maybe there are no such statistics, but I didn’t completely pull the number out of my donkey, either!

Finally, today A. gave me tofu with yellow tomatoes and I didn’t die. I totally expected to, you understand.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gry said, on September 11, 2008 at 10:28 am

    DUDE! I live in Finland and I speak Danish. YOU SHOULD SO TOTALLY DROP BY IF YOU ARE GOING TO FINLAND!

    SRSLY!

  2. ollka said, on September 11, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    DUDE! If I ever go to Finland I so totally will! Mind you, I am not going anywhere until I at least learn to pronounce “jeg hedder” properly :))

  3. April said, on September 15, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    I’ll have you know that deep fried gravel is actually a delicacy here in North Carolina.

  4. ollka said, on September 15, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    In that case, April, I’m sure you’ll enjoy learning Danish!


Leave a Reply

