The Obvious

frank london and lens trouble

Posted in event, gear, music, photos by theobvious on July 25, 2008

A. called me yesterday about lunchtime and announced: ‘We are going to the Frank London concert today!’ This had been discussed quite a while ago, with me assuming, after said discussion ending in complete inaction, no tickets having been purchased, and the concert not having been brought up for over a week, that we weren’t going. Suddenly, though, A. got us tickets; we went.

It was not just Frank London, of course. With Petras Vysniauskas playing sax, Anthony Coleman at the piano/keyboard, Arkadijus Gotesmanas as the drummer, and Brad Jones on bass, this was quite the dream team. They played some of the very obscure sounds I am told are called free jazz, and some wonderfully rich melodies, inspired partly by Jewish traditional music and composed by the musicians themselves.

I was busy running around the church wherein the concert was taking place, trying to get the most out of my D40 with the kit 18-55/3.5-5.6 lens. Obviously, nothing really good could come out of it. However, I did learn things.

Brad Jones

 Frank London admiring his trumpet

So today, I’ve been reading through dozens of LiveJournal communities, pages upon pages of Ken Rockwell’s website, online shops, and second-hand auctions – all to get at least some vague concept of an idea of an understanding of what lens I need to aim for next, and how much it would cost me. And you know me well enough by now to tell that I found out precious little; otherwise I wouldn’t be whining here.

All that can be said for sure right now is that it’s going to be a lot of time and money before I can enjoy myself while shooting a concert in a very dark hall. Word of the day – absolute befuddlement.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Frank London said, on July 26, 2008 at 12:26 am

    Lovely photos, hope to meet you someday! Please correct the information, though — Brad Jones is the bass player.

    Peace

    Frank


Leave a Reply

