The Obvious

the girl with no waist at all (in a bad way)

Posted in exercise, rant, weight loss by theobvious on July 4, 2008

Hello from the nineteenth century, where no man has a computer except for my unbelievably lucky father. Things have been happening here, most of them – of a highly unpleasant persuasion. Words have been said and information has been relayed, and I have learned things that might seem quite amusing had they been said about someone else.

The last straw on the back of the sleeping dog, as it were, was today at the gym, where I dragged myself, or rather, was dragged by my enthusiastic friend, at 9.30 am, which is a very early time indeed for Body Sculpting of any sort. There will be some filming next week at our modified and martial-art-buffed-up Tae Bo class, for advertising purposes. The instructor has been asking certain people personally to be there, including my friend and myself. Today he stopped us after class to re-emphasize the invitation. And such words did he utter, as I live and breathe: ‘Some people come to this class to lose weight, get into shape, so your… er… (flowy hand gestures) full figures would be a good example, you know, for them to see how well you’re doing… okay?’

Okay it was certainly not. Now, I have no illusions about myself. This is an Advanced class, so most of the people who come are either stick-figures or just in really good shape. And we are, in fact, doing really well. But I will not be the proverbial ‘fat girl who does well nevertheless’! There will be no nevertheless in my life story. I will not be used as an exemplary full figure. I am not fat, not as such, though I am what you might call curvy. Still, I take an S to M size! My friend is somewhat heavier than I am, and she took this to mean that her considerable weight loss in the past months has not gone unnoticed. She is actually pleased and does not understand my sulking.

But honestly, on top of everything I’ve heard this week, this was too much. Especially considering the enormous amount of effort I’m putting into working out. This is the exact sort of thing that makes me say ‘What’s the use? I’ll be fat whatever I do!’ and stuff half a cake into my mouth. Although of course I would never eat half a cake. Not even a quarter of a cake. I have my full figure to watch!

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. colbystream said, on July 4, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    haha, funny. er, not really. (that was more of a fake off with a break off in the middle leading to a serious face).

    Who says that if you’re not a stick figure you’re fat? I don’t ever recall the president of US, JR Simplot or even God proclaiming such a thing.

    Anyway, before I write a whole post myself: I don’t know what you look like (and don’t care to know – no offense, it’s just an internet privacy/my girlfriend thing), but what’s wrong with ‘curvy’? Personally, I only work out for fun, and I wish that’s what all people were in it for.

    I don’t believe you answered the question: why are you working out?

  2. ollka said, on July 4, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    Hey, Colby.
    All good points (incidentally, I never said it was either SF or fat, but other people seem to think so).
    I started working out to feel stronger and to lose some extra weight which was making me uncomfortable.
    Now I mostly do it because I enjoy it, and a day is not as good without a workout. But some part of it is still for weight loss.
    This subject seems to strike a nerve of some sort with you, yes/no?

  3. colbystream said, on July 4, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    yeah, I guess. I dated a girl once who was worried about her weight, and she weighed about 117 at 5 foot 6″

    The woman I’m dating now is about 5′ 7″ and trying to keep her weight UP because her medication makes her lose it too fast.

    I just wish people would be comfortable with themselves (even though I’m not always comfortable with me). We would all be more happy. Plus, I hate it when people think I work out because I want to look all manly. I just like to do it because it’s fun. So, it strikes many nerves, I guess. Not to an irritated point, but to the point of saying something.

    BTW, well written.

  4. ollka said, on July 4, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    Thank you.
    I can see how life can be difficult when most of the people around have concerns about their weight, whether rational or not at all.
    The most important thing I wanted to say though, is I wish your girlfriend the best of luck with her weight and her health in general.

  5. colbystream said, on July 4, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    lol. thank you. I’ll make sure to pass it along.

    I wish you luck in your advanced work-out class.

  6. anniewhere said, on July 5, 2008 at 12:01 am

    I’m too waisted (no pun intended) to read the comments, but I think your instructor should be kicked in the balls.

  7. anniewhere said, on July 5, 2008 at 12:04 am

    of course, I meant “wasted”, not “waisted”.

    Maybe there was a pun intended somewhere deep in my drunken mind.


Leave a Reply

