The Obvious

tested and testy

Posted in rant, the thrilling goings-on, travel by theobvious on June 17, 2008

Good thing nobody reads this blog, because otherwise I would have to apologize for being N/A all the time these days. Partly, time is to blame – I am finally starting to lose the momentum I gained by taking part in NaBloPoMo last year. But largely it’s like this lyric (points if you can identify it without using Google):

So, take this down:
I just feel so beat
and I think it’s time
to admit defeat
I thought I got mine
but that uphill climbing
is never through.

I think the song is about relationships and suchlike, but I am taking the liberty to apply it to matters more mundane, id est, the end of term. Ten exams, people. Ten freaking exams which, I’ll have you know, I’ve been acing so far, and that made me exhausted enough to fail my driving test. You heard it here first.

I am devastated about the driving, and have been falling asleep and/or bursting in tears at random times for a while now, which behaviour is usually restricted to times of severe PMS, but evidently, exams have the same effect on me. (Soon they should be issuing a governmental ban on whining on blogs, have faith.)

There is only one exam left tomorrow, after which, no matter the result, I am packing up and taking a train to glorious St. Petersburg where some of the most fabulous people I know happen to reside. The shop called today to say that my lens has been fixed – just in time and free of charge. So photos shall abound forsooth.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. slurredpress said, on June 18, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    Crap, I have to take a driving test soon, too.

    I’ll send good vibes across the pond(s) if you promise to return the virtual favor.

  2. Pamela said, on June 19, 2008 at 4:08 am

    I’m a nablo person and I’m still here reading. Bummer on the driving test. Don’t beat yourself up too much. It’s easy to get overwhelmed with life. Don’t I know it. I’m getting ready to go to a workshop and will be off blogs for 6 weeks. But I’ll be back in August. Enjoy your summer.

  3. colbystream said, on June 28, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    bummer on the fail. sadly, I sit with you. I failed my first time – the driving part, that is. that was sucky. well, cheer up. failure only comes in giving up (or so they say)


Leave a Reply

