The Obvious

shall we overcome?

Posted in uncategorized by theobvious on May 18, 2008

What I want to be doing right now:

– reading Quicksilver by Neal Stephenson and The Lollipop Shoes by Joanne Harris,

– going to Venice,

– being out with my brother taking photos,

– hanging out with certain people and bears.

Instead, I am moping about the place with a dried-out brain, out of words to post here, trying to work, work some more, and write a paper at the same time, and not succeeding at any of it.

I am absolutely convinced at this point in time that my studies are the only thing keeping me from living my life happily, but everyone is at my throat for even voicing the idea of dropping out. Of course, if I did, that would be my 2.5th failure to thrive in an academic environment, that’s probably why my close ones are concerned. But really, threatening me with no pie was a bit much.

It seems to me that I need a break. Unfortunately, there is no such thing as a sabbatical here. At least not for BA students. I just need to get my head straight, because I’m starting to feel increasingly stupid, and I know for a fact that I am not, not when I apply myself to something worthwhile. Ergo (do stupid people use Latin words? surely not!) what I’m doing now must not be worth my while.

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

