The Obvious

meh, i’m sure

Posted in the thrilling goings-on by theobvious on April 17, 2008

You’d think I’d have accumulated some news by now, or something intelligent to say. Or something to say. Blogging sort of feels like part of the day, a thing that ought to be done, yet my head is ringing with emptiness. I am coming late everywhere this week, and sleepy all the time. What is going on, I’m not sure.

The teapot song keeps attracting readers to this site. Every day there’s a search for it. Who knew it was such a popular piece of poetry! It’s more than a little annoying, however, that the first message people read here is the one saying I’m a tub o’ lard. Oi! Come over here! I am marginally less fat in this post!

I have changed the header picture and the name of the blog. The whole nightingale thing was nice while it lasted (and a much-googled item as well), but I’ve started to feel like I have too many names all over the internet. So it’s just the Obvious now. And the image is from St. Ignatius street here in Vilnius.

The assigned book for tomorrow’s literature seminar is The Sun Also Rises by Hemingway. Last week it was The Glass Bead Game (Das Glasperlenspiel) by Hesse. Before that, The Picture of Dorian Gray by Wilde. It’s nice to be assigned some of my favourite books to read, books I can actually feel something for.

***

My cousin just got married, and that merits a whoop! I’ve loved her since forever, she is such a beautiful, clever, fun, generous, and all-round gorgeous person that her new husband is probably one of the luckiest boys on this planet. Her sister got married this year too, whom I love just as much. Great times.

***

Honestly, I have nothing else. Nothing! Maybe Pesach this week-end will bring blogging fodder.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. slurredpress said, on April 18, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    I’m always amazed and disappointed when I see I’ve received 167 visitors… all looking for “jesus” because I said “jesus” once in a recent post.


Leave a Reply

