The Obvious

i’m back

Posted in important, love, people by theobvious on April 1, 2008

Wow, it’s been a while, hasn’t it? It’d be a lie to say I missed the Internet. I was having too much fun. As a result of this week though, there were over 1000 new posts on LiveJournal and over 700 sitting in my Google Reader when I switched the laptop on today. I’m almost through now, but I skimmed, so sorry for the lack of comments.

The plan was to pretend nothing had happened and head straight to class-coffee-workout, but all I could muster any enthusiasm at all for was the gym – now that I’d missed. Tae Bo is invigorating and I can’t wait to switch to a real martial art class when I shape up at the gym. Class – meh. I might go tomorrow, or not, depends how long I spend enjoying the sunny spring weather in the afternoon.

Right before I left a touching story happened: a famous blogger posted about some bad news in her family. Most of her readers immediately assumed her mother had died, because the mother is also a blogger, loved by all. So when they found out she was, in fact, not dead, they all left her comments like – ‘So glad you’re alive!’ and ‘Great that you’re still here!’

When I read that, I thought how we never usually tell people that. I’m glad you’re alive? That’s weird. But then suddenly they’re gone, or you’re just not talking to them anymore – and that’s it. You’ve not said it and they will never know. So now upon my return to the www, I’m rushing first off to say to my beloved friends and relatives: even if you don’t read this, it’s awesome that you’re alive! I understand it all the better now, after having spent a week with many of you and now returned to my City of Few People. Miss you all already.

Tagged with:

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. slurredpress said, on April 2, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    I’m glad you’re alive, too!


Leave a Reply

