The Obvious

jack is soon to become a dull boy

Posted in link, work by theobvious on March 4, 2008

This is incredibly relevant. Hilarious, too, but that is beside the point. It is relevant not because I am a grad student (in fact, I’m just a baby sophomore), but because once again, I have accepted a fairly meaningless academic challenge, and am now drudging through it like a freaking Shire horse.

There’s a certain returning client whose assignments I usually take because they come just when I’m out of cash and need to Buy Things. However, the second I sit down to work I remember why the previous time I swore I’d never accept another translation from this client ever again, not for a bag of doubloons, not even for a brand new Mini Cooper (well, maybe for a Mini Cooper).

It’s lots of fun working freelance. Especially when there’s no work. Or when there’s nowhere to go in the morning. Oh, much fun has been had indeed. But goodness, these horrible texts that come in on a school night in need of urgent translation, and drone on for thirty pages, well, these can deprive the number 42 itself of meaning, not to mention life as a creative process.

Working on a larger project is a challenge in itself. Remember the feeling of a looming deadline? Now imagine, if you will, this feeling accompanying you day and night for several weeks, months even. There’s nothing you can do to relieve the pressure until the work is all done, sent, and paid for. Fortunately, these particular thirty-something pages are not like that. They are due Wednesday.

Now excuse me while I giggle maniacally and poke myself in the eye with a sharp stick. Next time when my favourite client calls, I will pat my eye-patch knowingly and say: ‘Arrr, I’m not falling fer that one again, matey!’

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. slurredpress said, on March 4, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    Keeping with the nautical theme, I think a parrot on your shoulder might relieve some stress. I’m just saying.

  2. ollka said, on March 4, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    Oooh, a parrot! My cat would like that.
    :)


Leave a Reply

