The Obvious

good news and even gooder

Posted in good, sports, the thrilling goings-on by theobvious on February 7, 2008

I went shoe-shopping today. Wait, come back, this is not girl-speak for ‘stop listening’! In fact, this is pretty much as un-girly as it comes. I went to an Adidas store, trying to find a non-pink non-glittering pair of sneakers. I browsed the shelves for half an hour. Every goddamn pair was either lousy or metallic-coloured with patches of neon.

However, we prevailed. The shoes I bought in the end are a very nice pair with just a bit of extremely bright orange on the heel. When asked whether they would be good for training, the man behind the counter looked me up and down and smiled: ‘They’re not good enough for professional aerobics, but they will do for the amateur stuff.’

And just like that, I’m ready to sign up for a gym membership for the first time in my life. No worries. We were there today, and they have green walls. I’ll be in good hands and to tell you the truth, I couldn’t be more excited. Oh wait, yeah I can – a friend is taking me to a screening of the Cannes Lions in two hours! Life is truly awesome.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. At said, on February 8, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    Glad to see you are pleased with life, it is important for me that you are.

  2. ollka said, on February 8, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    Even more pleased now I’ve received a comment from you, sir. How are you, anyway?

  3. At said, on February 9, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    Oh, life goes on, as ever. I am reasonably fine, I’d say.


Leave a Reply

