The Obvious

white lie with a green tint

Posted in life, studies, work by theobvious on February 5, 2008

Today was the first day of term, which basically means back to normal life and back to work, because I swore to myself that I will do much better this time around. No more skipping classes, no more using other people’s notes, no more being late everywhere, no more reading in class.

So, It’s 2:49 a.m. now and I’m not going to school tomorrow. I skyped a friend and asked her to tell the teacher something if he askes after me. ‘Tell me what to say so our lies match,’ she replied calmly. I told her to say I had food poisoning. The truth simply would not do any good.

Seeing as it would sound more or less like this: I’m sitting at the kitchen table, sipping a craptastic instant cappuccino, trying to translate an endless ill-written text about anti-Semitism, due yesterday. I feel like an old bald fat man in a sweat-stained shirt, though mine is clean.

Food poisoning sounds infinitely more elegant. The greenish color of my face and the giant bags under my eyes will probably support the lie. Do you love the picture I’m painting here? Add in vertical hair: when I work, I keep ruffling it until it sticks out in every direction. Classy, eh!

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anna said, on February 5, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    Hi!

    I’m also skipping school and translating something due yesterday.

    Me bad too.

  2. ollka said, on February 5, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    So, how’d you do? I crashed at 9 am, still not done.

  3. slurredpress said, on February 5, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    So you’re saying you look like Harvey Pekar?

  4. ollka said, on February 5, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    Non, ma cherie, nothing as awesome. I mean, this guy was played by Paul Giamatti for goodness’ sake! I look like this: http://images.jupiterimages.com/common/detail/57/03/22990357.jpg
    Ha ha, grossed you out.

  5. Anna said, on February 6, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    I. Submitted it. Three. Hours. Ago.


Leave a Reply

