The Obvious

new year, new start

Posted in books, good, studies by theobvious on January 3, 2008

Hi! Guess what I’ve been doing! Ahem. Reading. To illustrate, here’s a photo of part of the books I need to have read and studied thoroughly by the 9th:

On top there you can see part of my notes, and on the left – my calendar, which is filled exclusively with studying until the 22nd. And you can’t really tell, but I’ve marked every exam date with a little skull and crossed bones. Just as a symbol of my enthusiasm, see.

So anyway, our New Year’s Eve was kind of nice. In fact, it was better than the last couple of times. We paid a short visit to my great aunt, brought her a cake and all that, and then, inspired by our own goodness, we returned home to exchange gifts with the family.

New Year’s Eve is the local Jewish version of Christmas morning. So there’s presents. And boy, was there a lot of them! I got so much cool stuff, including a fluffy teddy bear / hot water bottle, which – in sickness and in health till death do us part, indeed.

Also, I’m sure you’ll all be excited to know that I’ve been showing marvels of restraint, reading a >500 page book daily, spending hardly any time at the computer, even did my good old Turbo Jam workout today! And, um, showered. For the first time in almost a week.

It feels good to be bragging here, instead of calling myself names and whining. No more pseudo-depression and comfort food. Well, maybe a little comfort food. But definitely more showering! And I have another, less self-centered post planned, so stay tuned.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rachel said, on January 3, 2008 at 4:43 am

    Wow…you have admirable discipline.

  2. ollka said, on January 3, 2008 at 4:57 am

    Have you like, missed the part where I skipped showering and pretty much everything else for the past week or so? :)) But thanks.

  3. Stas Rozet said, on January 7, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    Wo, you’re doing your best, and i think you will pass all these exams with one hand behind your back. And, i must admit, i can not say so about my funny hot month.

  4. ollka said, on January 7, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    Staseg! What’s wrong?


Leave a Reply

