The Obvious

roy g biv challenged

Posted in uncategorized by theobvious on December 13, 2007

I’ve never liked colouring my pictures. When I was a kid, I thought very highly of my own artistic abilities, but grew bored of every picture as soon as the pencil sketch was done. My mother, when presented with these creations, usually expressed displeasure. She felt they were unfinished and wanted me to colour them. I, in turn, felt disappointed at her for not appreciating my ‘art’.

Today, I love colour and try to bring it into my life in every possible way. But at the same time, I’m faithful to my monochromatic self. I take black and white photos. All my Christmas cards are drawn in black ink on white paper and not coloured. I carry a notebook around, and a 0.1 Faber-Castell pen, and make little black-and-white sketches now and then. They are the way I see the world.

The picture above is a colourless still of a very colourful event. It’s the belfry of our university’s church (‘the Johns’), seen from a window in the library tower, which I visited today as part of a tour of the secret passageways of the library. It was an exclusive tour for university instructors. My mom took me. I believe she’s learned to appreciate my black-and-white side, and I’m delighted.

Tagged with:

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ollka said, on December 13, 2007 at 1:10 am

    De-lighted, haha. No light=no colour. Hahaha. Oh, my. I am now officially a geek.

  2. ALF said, on December 13, 2007 at 3:55 am

    black and white photos are the best! You’re very talented!

  3. ollka said, on December 13, 2007 at 9:47 am

    ALF: thank you very much, I’m glad you like it:)


Leave a Reply

