The Obvious

blogging, how can i resist

Posted in the thrilling goings-on by theobvious on December 3, 2007

While y’all have abandoned me (post-NaBloPoMo temperance, I wonder?), the faithful teapot lovers are still swarming in. If this is a practical joke, I appreciate the humor, but you have made your point, okay?

I was planning to keep away from this blog for a while, but Yahoo! is down, so I am deprived of the possibility to maniacally recheck my inbox every few milliseconds. The only other alternative to blogging is schoolwork, and frankly, after 300 pages of Faust non-stop, I’d rather face hyper-blogging-itis.

Today, autumn has returned. It’s 4 degrees centigrade and raining. A friend suggested that we are now a lot like London. They clearly haven’t notified Foyles. (We do have Marks&Spencer, at least, but it’s quite dreary, not what Carson Kressley would recommend.)

I have been working on my education in two ways. One, as evident from two paragraphs above, is reading up for my Western Lit class. The list includes, but isn’t limited to, Rabelais (I know he’s important, but I still hate him), Bocaccio, Cervantes, Goethe, and Voltaire. Bah humbug.

The other thing I’m catching up with is the music of my friends’ youth. That’s Prodigy, Depeche Mode, and Oasis, to name a few. I’m actually enjoying this. I’ve also rediscovered Robbie Williams, who is delightfully energetic and likeable, drugs and rock’n’roll notwithstanding.

What have you been up to? Why the obsession with kitchenware? Talk to me?.. Somebody? Anybody? – Simba the lion cub cried pitifully, all alone in the valley. (My Dad is okay, thanks for asking.)

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. At said, on December 4, 2007 at 10:14 am

    Voltaire is awesome though, and highly enjoyable, if a bit over-the-top-ly (hoorah for non-existent words) sardonic. I think you might enjoy his writings, and Candide really is a great book.
    Then again, you might just think he’s really boring…
    I am not going to advertise teapots, if you’ll excuse me.

  2. ollka said, on December 4, 2007 at 11:41 am

    Well, I’ll get back to you once I’ve read Candide. Thank you for leaving kettles out of this. Your signature looks familiar, by the way, hi.


Leave a Reply

