The Obvious

sense this

Posted in good, important by theobvious on November 26, 2007

Once I’m on the subject of gratitude, here are six more things I’m thankful for:

Sight, because I need all the information I can soak up, and it’s quickest through the eyes. Beauty is also something I couldn’t live without. That is why I love photography.

Sound, because my life is powered by music. And because through words, the world is changed and people are found. We express our love by speaking it, and, more importantly, listening to it.

Smell, because coffee and cinnamon, oranges and grass, paper and ink, water and shampoo, laundry, cats, babies, and friends all smell different. I’m not a dog, but I do follow my nose sometimes.

Texture, because it’s soothing. A bar of soap with little rough particles wakes me up to a new day. There is sensuality in texture – it can be better to touch once than spend hours looking and wishing.

Taste, because life revolves around food and drink. Ultimately, anything that’s done is done around the table. Deals are made, love is born, fights thunder – all between the menu and the check.

Thought, because where would I be without it.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rachel said, on November 27, 2007 at 9:11 am

    Hmmm. Lovely.

    If you had to erase one, which would you choose?

  2. ollka said, on November 27, 2007 at 7:28 pm

    You’re just trying to make it difficult, aren’t you? :) Smell, I guess. It’s important, but the rest are vital. How about you?

  3. Rachel said, on November 28, 2007 at 2:15 am

    I think taste, maybe? Only because there isn’t really anything that I couldn’t live without tasting. And because of the chub.

    I would say smell, but that gives me too much deja vu to let go of.

  4. ollka said, on November 28, 2007 at 8:39 pm

    Good point. Can I just keep all of them?

  5. Rachel said, on November 29, 2007 at 2:59 am

    *sigh*

    I guess.

    :)


Leave a Reply

