The Obvious

music is my fahrenheit

Posted in music by theobvious on November 13, 2007

It’s snowing. Christmas is all around us, and so the feeling grows. It gets dark at 4 pm, and after school I feel that the day is over.

Every venture outside is a quest. I put on my warm green coat, wrap on a scarf, tie my new winter shoes, and plug my ears with music. Every quest needs a soundtrack. Mine is ska, jazz, brasileiro, klezmer, and indie rock. Warm music.

Adam Green has a warm voice, Nazare Pereira has a warm background, The Squirrel Nut Zippers have a warm attitude. Franz Ferdinand give me a warm fuzzy feeling of nostalgia. Frank London is plain fire, inside and out.

A. is still in Russia, he has most of our equipment, so I can’t change the music in my phone every day. I walk out, pressing the Play button, and the sounds I hear are familiar like an old sweater. I move my lips, singing along, warm inside.

I follow my ears to school, then to a coffee shop, where I lazily decide whether to listen to what they’re playing or to what I brought, then the music and I take a trolleybus home. Here I shut it off and sit in silence. It’s warm enough here.

Leave a Reply

