The Obvious

and allikaylor was her name, oh!

Posted in i don't know, weird by theobvious on November 4, 2007

Okay, can’t write on account of rolling on the floor laughing. Let me address you to this bit of sheer genius so you can join me down here.

Seriously though, what’s with the Pippi Longstocking syndrome*? Why do people call their children names that imply their parents hate them? What is the overwhelming need to use nouns as names based on? I mean, Summer?! Really?

Some people seem to think that a child is not a whole new person as much as a creative project. Well hey, I’m not here to judge. I am here to feel deep commiseration. Dear mistreated children of the world, all you Jairickas and Irelynds and Alliwens out there – I’m feeling for you.

*You do know her full name was Pippilotta Delicatessa Windowshade Mackrelmint Efraim’s Daughter Longstocking, don’t you?

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rachel said, on November 5, 2007 at 4:34 am

    “My daughter-in-law would like to name the baby River Sunshine. That’s the first and middle names. I think he’s going to be teased in school.”

    Oh, my. Really? How tragic.


Leave a Reply

