The Obvious

all hail the tooth-monster

Posted in braces, news by theobvious on November 3, 2007

When I finished yesterday’s post with that elegant segue to braces, I was alluding to the fact that I, indeed, am getting them. Here’s what I think about it:

CRAP! CRAPPY FUCKING CRAP! Also – CRAAAAAP!!! Everyone’s gonna STARE at me, mommy! How do you not realize I CAN’T DO THIS?! Don’t wanna, don’t wanna, don’t waaannaaaaa!!!

On a slightly more civilized note, I am not thrilled. I do realize that this is necessary and unavoidable. I don’t fully realize it’s going to happen yet. They say it’s extremely painful. They also say you walk around looking like a freak for many months.

Yes, that’s what I meant the other day when I said I’m finally getting something taken care of. Yes, I remember being happy and proud when I agreed to it. Yes, I admit to weeping unattractively in a public space (namely, bus stop). No, I don’t want to talk about it.

I’m only writing about this for two reasons: a) I need to adjust to the idea, and b) everyone’s going to know anyway when they come on.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rachel said, on November 3, 2007 at 10:18 pm

    Weeellllll…..

    My braces didn’t hurt. At all, really. There was a bit of scratching against the inside of my mouth, but that was easily rectified with wax.

    AND! When I got them off, and smiled at people, expecting compliments, and then not getting them, the general response was, “I didn’t notice that you had braces, really.”

    I tend to smile with my mouth closed, though.

    You’ll be so happy when they come off!

  2. Gwyn said, on November 4, 2007 at 11:46 pm

    I’m with Rachel. My braces didn’t really hurt. They were a little sore for a day or so after they were tightened but it wasn’t anything a little ibuprofen couldn’t take care of.

    The only thing that I really didn’t like about it was the restrictions it placed upon what I could and couldn’t eat but even those rules can be ignored if you really want. No worries.

  3. ollka said, on November 5, 2007 at 1:21 am

    Ohhhh. This is making me feel much much better. Thank you! I just hope it works out just as well for me as it did for you.


Leave a Reply

