The Obvious

the sound of everything

Posted in rant by theobvious on October 28, 2007

Living in a big household with not many doors can be tough. The total lack of privacy or personal space gets old with time. What bugs me most about it is the inability to control what I’m listening to.

Think about it – if there is an unpleasant smell coming from the kitchen, you can open a window or block your nose. If there is an unspeakable sight unveiling before your eyes – look away or squint, maybe it’ll look like a squirrel. But noise – there’s no blocking that out.

Every conversation in this house goes directly into my head. Every bark, growl, or meow from the pets scratches on my eardrums. Every error message on every one of the four simultaneously working computers, every click of a mouse, every clink of the dishes – I hear them all.

Oh, how I long for a sound-proof room! I would revel in total silence, then put on some music and enjoy its clear, undisturbed properties. I could read books, work, or watch movies in absolute privacy, without anyone listening to see what I’m up to.

And most importantly – I would never have to hear another word of ‘María y José se aman mucho’ or whatever it’s called ever again! Gee, I hope Santa Claus is reading my blog.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lucy said, on November 1, 2007 at 1:15 am

    this is exactly what i long for. My salvation is working for JDC at seminars and living alone in hotels. I miss you so much…

  2. ollka said, on November 1, 2007 at 2:11 am

    I miss you more. And I want to live alone too. How exactly does one get to work for JDC?
    My-own-room is what I want for my birthday.


Leave a Reply

