The Obvious

quirky little custom

Posted in Uncategorized by theobvious on October 28, 2007

Whenever I need to use the bathroom in a restaurant and it’s occupied, I wait for the person to come out and then feel compelled to smile at them. They usually smile back. It’s a weird thing to do:

– Hi, I know what you just did!
– Hey, I know what you are going to do!
– I would have done it sooner if it weren’t for you.
– I wouldn’t have had to hurry if it weren’t for you.
– :)
– :)

It sounds absurd and it is. Yet I can’t help but do it. Very polite. Very obsessive, too – I’ve been thinking about this since yesterday. But then again, I’ve been trying to sneeze with my eyes open for ten days now.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anna said, on October 28, 2007 at 2:27 am

    I usually take these smiles as “sorry for making you wait”

  2. ollka said, on October 28, 2007 at 3:45 pm

    and you’re right in doing so, i’m sure. but to a sick mind, everything looks different, bwahahaha (i’m getting ready for halloween)


Leave a Reply

