The Obvious

traveling like a true polonist

Posted in places by theobvious on October 9, 2007

I took this picture on my first visit to Krakow. It was four years ago, which means I was ’16 going on 17′, and it was one of the best trips I’ve ever had. I was surrounded with people who meant the world to me, and we were in a city that was surely the better part of that world. I don’t think I’ll ever forget the joy we shared on that trip.

Krakow is everything I love in a city – it’s old, very European, it has a Market square (see picture), yet civilization is nowhere far gone. There are plenty of bookshops, coffeehouses, souvenir stalls – I don’t normally buy souvenirs, but I like looking at them – and other things I need to maintain my livelihood. Luckily, my family seems to share those priorities.

Tomorrow at 5 p.m. I will be setting off for Krakow in a (hopefully) comfortable bus, together with A. and my parents. We will spend three (hopefully) lovely days there, taking lots of pictures and drinking gallons of coffee. Our hostel is smack in the middle of the Old Town, the weather is supposed to be nice, Dad got food, so nothing should keep us from having fun.

We will be back on Saturday, with photos to post, gifts to distribute, and thoughts to share. And now if you’ll excuse me, I think I need to get packing.

Leave a Reply

