The Obvious

thespian experience

Posted in uncategorized by theobvious on September 20, 2007

We went to see Waiting for Godot today. It was a lovely play, it made me sad, thoughtful, and exhilarated the way good performances always do. It made me long for talent. It made me think of the following question, which is actually the most appropriate when posted on a zero-audience blog (an oxymoron if there ever was one):

is it worth doing something when you are positive you are not brilliant at it?

I mean, if you know you can be fairly decent at something, but never great, and that there are people who have God’s gift to do the very same thing way better than you. If you know you can never outdo them or even yourself, that you will never have that moment of triumph with all eyes on you and everyone thinking ‘Wow!’ – I wonder if it’s still worth doing.

I really want to go back to acting. I don’t suck major foot, but I’m no Sarah Bernhardt, not by a long shot. With my perfectionism – hell, that could be painful. Yet I can’t help but wonder.

Tagged with:

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anna said, on September 20, 2007 at 9:36 pm

    hello)

    now there’s two of us talking non-native language into space)

  2. Anna said, on September 20, 2007 at 11:57 pm

    Oh, AND…

    I think it is worth doing something when you are positive you are not brilliant at it when you just can’t restrain yourself from doing it.


Leave a Reply

