The Obvious

what’s america got that i don’t have?

Posted in i don't know by theobvious on September 13, 2007

Now I’ve been watching America’s Got Talent clips on YouTube recently, and this question came to mind. The people who come on stage in that show are staggeringly two-fold. They’re either really great or so foul that the word lousy wouldn’t suit them on the best of days. Not to mention the fact that some of the acts are just embarrassing.

So what I’m trying to figure out is how come both of these kinds of people sincerely believe they are talented? I mean, how does this kind of taste split happen in a nation?

Is this because of financial differences? Because some people can never afford books and good records and education, so they just don’t have any framework for comparison? They just don’t know what ‘talented’ looks like so they think they’re it?

Or is it because the standards are now so fuzzy? Because we tend to say ‘interesting’ instead of ‘oh God, you suck’ and ‘I’ll call you’ instead of ‘this was the worst date I’ve ever had’? I really appreciate tolerance and giving everyone a chance, but not when it all starts to get outright dishonest.

I guess I’m taking a Church of Pop-culture show too seriously. But I do need to think about this more. Maybe this is just something I don’t get. Maybe the problem is my narrow-mindedness. In which case, oh, I don’t know. Go Granny!

Leave a Reply

