The Obvious

will grayson will grayson

Posted in books by theobvious on April 22, 2011

I’m just through reading Will Grayson Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan. This was my first Levithan and my last Green (nothing else is available until September). It wasn’t as great as Green’s Paper Towns, but it’s hard to match what I think is his magnum opus to date. This one, however, was brilliant as well. Firstly, because the co-authors’ styles merge well (due, probably, in part to some magic editing). And secondly, because it’s a good story.

Sometimes I start a new book, and for the first few pages I just read the words, like gliding on the surface without a connection. And then all at once the surface seems to dip into a cliff, and my mind pans with it like a camera, following it into the sudden depth. I get tunnel vision, focused entirely on my reading. Lifting my eyes, I’m surprised it’s daytime, because it feels as though all light has been dimmed except for whatever is enabling me to hoover the letters off the page. Reality has little to do with me, because the story has me in a grip so strong it’s difficult to shake until the book ends.

I was reading Will Grayson Will Grayson at a very busy coffee shop today, sitting in an armchair in a corner. At some point, a group of teenagers came in, chattering noisily. They piled into my corner and took the other armchair, the sofa, the table, and even the floor next to me. All this did distract me, but only for a second. The magnetism of the story pulled me right back so powerfully, that with the girls laughing and screaming over each other and over my head, I was not even there to get annoyed or protective of my personal space.

The story of the two Will Graysons and of Tiny Cooper (who incidentally annoys the hell out of most readers, but I can’t help but like Green’s every character because they’re just too human, not perfectly good or impeccably bad) was not the best story I’ve ever read. Nor did it have the best ending. But it was one of the most gripping stories I’ve encountered lately, and though it’s true that I’m easily gripped, this is still saying something.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ettel said, on April 26, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    Hey,

    Thanks for coming by. You happened to catch a morose post, but I promise they’re usually quite upbeat and fun!

    And I just had to tell you how much I really like your writing style.

    -Ettel

    • theobvious said, on April 26, 2011 at 11:59 pm

      I know, I read back. And I’ll keep an eye out for happier times on your blog, because it’s lovely and I’m glad your mom gave my mom the link.
      Thank you for the compliment, it means a lot.
      Good thoughts,
      -Olga


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 894 other followers

